Skip to main content
    Back to Programs
    Ohio State University-Main Campus

    Master of Social Work - Online

    Last verified against the official program page on .

    Columbus, USMSWOnline2 years
    $27,996.00
    Tuition
    over 24mo
    53%
    Acceptance
    of applicants
    63
    Credits
    $70.00
    App fee

    Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus is a 63-credit, 2-year, online MSW program based in Columbus, US. Tuition is $27,996.

    About the program

    The program prepares students for advanced social work practice with individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities through a curriculum that integrates theory, field practicum, and areas of emphasis such as aging and health, mental health and substance misuse, child and youth services, and community and social justice.

    Focus: coursework
    #12 (U.S. News & World Report)
    Part-time option

    Your fit

    Match

    Pro users see a 0 to 100 match score personalized to their academic profile, plus a per-component breakdown (major, GPA, tests, work experience, and more).

    Admissions

    Pro

    Unlock full admissions requirements

    GPA thresholds, GRE/TOEFL/IELTS minimums, essay counts, recommendation letters, prerequisites, admissions contacts, and country-specific requirements like APS certification, portfolio submissions, or GATE scores.

    Sign in to view - it's free

    Deadlines

    Spring 2027
    Nov 12, 2026

    Standardized tests

    TOEFL
    required
    Min 79 on the TOEFL iBT (university minimum; program-specific not stated)
    IELTS
    required
    Min 7.0 on the IELTS Academic (university minimum; program-specific not stated)

    After the program

    Post-study work rights

    12 months OPT (US)

    $15,902.00
    Annual living cost

    Application Checklist

    Sign in to track what you need to submit for this program.

    Sign in
    See admits on GradCafe
    Self-reported profiles of past applicants to this program.

    Prerequisites

    Specific coursework this program expects you to have completed: calculus, linear algebra, programming, statistics, and subject-specific prerequisites where applicable.

    Recommendations

    Exact count of letters required, whether academic vs professional references are preferred, and any program-specific guidance on who to ask.

    Essays

    Number of essays required (statement of purpose, personal statement, diversity statement), prompts where the program publishes them, and whether supplemental essays are optional or mandatory.

    Contact

    Direct email and phone for the admissions office handling this program, plus a link to the program-specific inquiry page where available.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much does Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus cost?
    The total estimated tuition for Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus is $27,996 across 63 required credits.
    Is Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus online or in-person?
    Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus is offered online, so students can complete coursework remotely.
    How long does Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus take to complete?
    Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus is structured around 2 years and 63 credits.
    What GPA is required for Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus?
    Per the program's published guidance: 3.0 or higher (based on a 4.0 system)
    How competitive is Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus?
    Master of Social Work - Online at Ohio State University-Main Campus reports an acceptance rate of approximately 53%.