Skip to main content
    Back to Programs
    Stevens Institute of Technology

    Materials Science and Engineering, M.S

    Last verified against the official program page on .

    Hoboken, USMSIn-person18 months
    STEM-OPT
    $64,620.00
    Tuition
    over 18mo
    48%
    Acceptance
    of applicants
    30
    Credits
    $60.00
    App fee

    Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology is a 30-credit, 18-month, in-person MS program based in Hoboken, US. Tuition is $64,620 and the program is STEM-OPT eligible for international students.

    About the program

    The program provides education in materials science and engineering with concentrations in materials science and engineering, materials technology for energy and sustainability, and nanotechnology. It covers core topics including thermodynamics, structure, kinetics, and research methods, preparing students for careers in materials design, processing, and innovation.

    Focus: both
    U.S. News & World Report (Engineering): Stevens Institute of Technology listed in Top 75 in the U.S. (2025-26).
    Part-time option

    Your fit

    Match

    Pro users see a 0 to 100 match score personalized to their academic profile, plus a per-component breakdown (major, GPA, tests, work experience, and more).

    Admissions

    Pro

    Unlock full admissions requirements

    GPA thresholds, GRE/TOEFL/IELTS minimums, essay counts, recommendation letters, prerequisites, admissions contacts, and country-specific requirements like APS certification, portfolio submissions, or GATE scores.

    Sign in to view - it's free

    Deadlines

    Spring 2027
    Nov 1, 2026

    Standardized tests

    GRE
    optional
    Min Optional; applicants who believe their GRE/GMAT scores demonstrate potential for success in graduate program may elect to submit those scores.
    TOEFL
    required
    Min TOEFL iBT minimum 80 (general requirement; program-specific not stated)
    IELTS
    required
    Min IELTS minimum 6.0 overall (general requirement; program-specific not stated)

    After the program

    Post-study work rights

    36 months OPT (US)

    $22,144.00
    Annual living cost

    Application Checklist

    Sign in to track what you need to submit for this program.

    Sign in
    See admits on GradCafe
    Self-reported profiles of past applicants to this program.

    Prerequisites

    Specific coursework this program expects you to have completed: calculus, linear algebra, programming, statistics, and subject-specific prerequisites where applicable.

    Recommendations

    Exact count of letters required, whether academic vs professional references are preferred, and any program-specific guidance on who to ask.

    Essays

    Number of essays required (statement of purpose, personal statement, diversity statement), prompts where the program publishes them, and whether supplemental essays are optional or mandatory.

    Contact

    Direct email and phone for the admissions office handling this program, plus a link to the program-specific inquiry page where available.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much does Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology cost?
    The total estimated tuition for Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology is $64,620 across 30 required credits.
    Is Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology online or in-person?
    Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology is offered in-person.
    How long does Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology take to complete?
    Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology is structured around 18 months and 30 credits.
    What GPA is required for Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology?
    Per the program's published guidance: Typically, a GPA of 3.0 (on a 4-point scale) or better at the bachelor’s level, and 3.5 or better at the master’s level, are required.
    Is Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology STEM-OPT eligible?
    Yes - Materials Science and Engineering, M.S at Stevens Institute of Technology is STEM-OPT designated, allowing international graduates to extend their post-completion OPT for up to 36 months total.